Ready To Give Up


ID-10032808

“Mountain Climber” by Sura Nualpradid

The WordCount 2013 Blogathon is winding down and I can’t wait. 30 blog posts in 30 days. Crazy! Especially for a woman who hadn’t blogged in months. I’m ready to put an end to it tonight except that I can see the Finish Line: I have 5 posts to go (I owe you guys one since I skipped one day when I went to the CanWrite! Conference 2013.)

Here I am writing this post basically about nothing because I’m out of ideas. For 25 of the last 26 days, I’ve winged every post. I don’t have time to think about them during the day and I haven’t had time to plan any so I’ve sat down and asked: “What do I feel like writing about tonight?” It usually started with one idea and turned into something completely different such as “I’ll write about what a great little stylist BabyGirl is” and that became Western Canada, Here I Come. So my mind wanders. Shrug.

Last night I read a post, Doing Short Stories, Novel and Blog All At Once, Oh, My!, by Linda Adams, who was a guest blogger here last week, about taking on writing challenges and how difficult but necessary it is to get organized. I know what she means.

Do you have any post ideas for me? How do you get organized when you take on personal writing challenges? What’s your next challenge?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Elizabeth Joss on June 27, 2013 - 7:11 AM

    Don’t give up! I definitely haven’t completed all the days because i’m in the process of immigrating so it’s not easy. But I’ve done the best I could in the time I had. I think the key is not necessarily always have something to say but when you do make sure it is meaningful and valuable. Good luck Patricia!!

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on June 28, 2013 - 12:38 AM

      I haven’t given up yet. The Finish Line is nigh and I can’t wait to cross it. Unlike poor planning, immigration is an excellent reason to miss a post. Keep walking the Earth Elizabeth!

  2. #3 by WomanBitesDog on June 27, 2013 - 3:24 AM

    My next challenge is to write my next play while coping with a shift in work hours. It’s going to take a lot of organisation and discipline. Time management is key! Only I’ve got to practise what I preach…

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on June 28, 2013 - 12:31 AM

      I completely understand. Stay organized and good luck! Remember, you are not alone.

Leave a Reply

