Same Love


Motherhood is wonder full. Having been raised by a controlling mother, I made the decision early on in my life to let my future children explore who they are. Once BabyGirl was born, I narrowed down my responsibilities toward her:

  • Teach her self-love and self-respect so that she stays true to herself.
  • Instill self-confidence so that she never doubts her abilities or her decisions.
  • Support and love her so that she always has a safe haven.

I’m curious about her. I’m curious about her likes, her dislikes, her talents. I am curious about her future. Who will she be? What will she do? How will she live? She has so much to learn and so much to discover. At times, I standby and watch; at other times, I guide or encourage. So far, she has a passion for fashion, has chosen to be a doctor and a rock star, and is interested in the motives behind her classmates bad behavior (maybe she’ll be a writer too).

The one thing that I am certain of is that even at the age of five, I can see that BabyGirl will be straight. She smiles coyly at boys her age, is entranced by teenage boys and asks me if I think this man or that one is good-looking. The fact that I do none of these things (and I probably should if I’m ever going to attract a man again in this lifetime) tells me that instinct guides our gender orientation.

Here’s a Pride anthem worth listening to.

Do we really need to walk a mile in anyone’s shoes to respect them? Can’t we just love and let love? Do we have to impose our beliefs on others?

What do you think?

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

