Are You Thirty-Nine?


Did you watch the Grammy’s? Yeah, me neither. I was too busy on my own red carpet. It was my birthday this weekend and I celebrated my last 30th year by enjoying the fluidity of life.

Friday morning, I was treated to at least 15 cm of snow. I embrace all the seasons and I figure that if I’m a winter baby, my big day should take place in a winter wonderland.

Community - Snowstorm in Toronto yournews.cbc.ca

Community – Snowstorm in Toronto
yournews.cbc.ca

I loaded Mom and BabyGirl into the car and trekked all of 1.9 km to the mall so that I could beautify myself on my special day. πŸ˜‰

031

I’m liking my new haircut. (By the way, if you’re at Square One, check out Loucas at Donato Salon.) We had a lovely Greek lunch at the food court followed by a winter’s drive to the train station to drop off BabyGirl for her weekend with her father.

Unfortunately, my evening plans with my friend Patricia Sands were cancelled, but I’m sure we’ll make them up at the first opportunity. Speaking of Pat, she’ll be releasing a new novel in the spring and I’m one of the chosen few to get a pre-market copy. I’m enjoying every word and, since this was my weekend of indulgence, reading it added to my pleasure, mon plaisir.

I spent the evening cleaning my desk which might seem wrong to some, however, it was a long overdue chore. When I was done, I felt like I had just Pinesol-ed my life. Can you smell the lemony fresh scent?

Saturday, friends from Montreal called to give me their best wishes and to catch up on life in general. It’s always a treat to hear from them. Mom took me for sushi at Spring Rolls. I tried Saki for the first and last time. The restaurant manager was kind enough to let me send it back and order a glass of wine instead. Mom and I shared this platter. Delicious!

AYCE-MENU_28

On Sunday, anticipation filled the air as I did groceries, baked myself a wonderful chocolate cake stuffed and covered in whipped cream with mandarins, and awaited the return of BabyGirl for my party – complete with flowers, a balloon, a gift and a sweet little voice singing “Happy Birthday”. She also asked the questions: “Are you one? Are you two? Are you three?…Are you thirty-nine? I love this kid!

001

It was a great way to start my new year which happens to coincide with the Chinese New Year – the Year of Snake. I’m slithering into it. How about you?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mike Schulenberg on February 12, 2013 - 11:27 PM

    Happy Birthday. Sounds like a great day πŸ™‚

    On a side note, I miss snow.

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on February 13, 2013 - 11:31 PM

      Thanks Mike!

      I can’t imagine living in a snowless climate. What’s winter without it?

      • #3 by Mike Schulenberg on February 14, 2013 - 11:36 AM

        I actually grew up in a snowless climate, so it’s what I was used to for a long time. Then I lived in Wisconsin for 14 years and quickly got to the point where snow=magical awesome. Now I live in my home state again, so there’s no snow. But maybe someday I’ll live in a place with a proper winter again πŸ™‚

  2. #4 by patriciasands on February 12, 2013 - 5:27 PM

    One more time … Happy Birthday! I like your new haircut too and that chocolate cake looks very delicious! Thanks for the shout out about my book and I am sooo glad you are enjoying it. We will have a belated celebration in the spring! Rock that #39!

  3. #6 by Catherine Johnson on February 12, 2013 - 9:24 AM

    Belated Happy Birthday, all that food looks delicious! Congrats Patricia!

Leave a Reply

