Making Work


Courtesy of David Castillo Dominici

Courtesy of David Castillo Dominici

I have one of those jobs that allows for nothing other than doing my work. I usually have at least ten hours worth of work although I work eight hours. Everyday, I leave tasks unfinished. I force myself to stop working and eat or go to the washroom or go for a walk. I like working so I don’t mind.

Once in a while, I catch up. It happens every couple of months. I find myself all caught up: the day-to-day tasks go smoothly, no issues arise, I can go for a walk, have a real lunch break, even have a chat with a co-worker. This makes me completely paranoid.

I’m so used to having more work than I can handle, that to have too little worries me. Did I do everything? Is there something I’ve forgotten? Is there something I postponed so long ago that I don’t remember? What will my boss say if he sees me staring at my computer screen? Since he’s a workhorse himself, but not a slave driver, I’m guessing he’d say nothing.

I’ll make work. I’ll get busy organizing computer folders, dusting my desk, anything to look busy. The stupid things is that this respite as I’ve mentioned comes only every two months and only last for an afternoon. The next day, I’ll be back in the pressure cooker. Yet it stress me out more than being regularly swamped. It’s actually the part of my job that I hate.

What’s the least favorite part of your job?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Catherine Johnson on January 20, 2013 - 5:19 PM

    I used to have a job like that. It seemed likecthe only job of its kind in the office. No wonder I haven’t heard from you in a while. Take care!

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on January 28, 2013 - 1:16 AM

      I know I’ve been absent for a while. I’m struggling to get back into it all including writing. Baby steps… Sigh.

  2. #3 by Michelle Proulx on January 20, 2013 - 5:06 PM

    My least favourite part of my job is how much it changes. My job fluctuates from gathering research to writing scripts to coordinating media production to giving presentations to … etc. I am relieved when I get a project that involves one specific task, because it’s a break from trying to juggle all these things I have to do in my head. And I’m not very good at juggling.

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on January 28, 2013 - 1:11 AM

      Your job sounds so cool! Still I can see how overwhelming it can get to be a jack-of-all-trades. It is nice to be able to focus on one thing for a period of time.

Leave a Reply

