Actually, It Does Matter


As many apartment dwellers, I own a shopping cart that I use to lug my purchases from my car to my home. Every Friday morning as I leave for work, I take the cart with me in case I decide to do to my groceries on my way home. I leave it in my parking spot and off I go.

It is old and bent and might be worth a whole five dollars. While the thought has crossed my mind that maybe someone could steal it, I decided to trust in humankind. Maybe someone would borrow it to get them out of a jam and return it as soon as they were done, but no one would take it, would they? Even if they did, it was pretty worthless and a replacement might be a good idea so it wouldn’t really matter, would it?

Last night when I got home, the cart was gone. I was a little sad. I would have been angry had I gone shopping but I had opted to go to a baseball game instead of a grocery store. So there was nothing my little metal pack mule needed to transport. Most stores had been closed for a couple of hours already so the borrowed theory seemed unlikely. By the time I got upstairs, I felt like a loser. I had trusted my fellow residents and they had let me down. While the cart didn’t gain any monetary value in my eyes, I still felt violated. Someone had taken what was mine. Had I misjudged the world? Was I destined to be taken advantage of? Maybe I was asking for it, but I wouldn’t have touched another’s belongings so why would someone take what was mine?

This morning I decided to scan the garage for the cart just in case it might have been relocated. On the opposite side of the garage, it stood waiting for me to claim it back. I smiled at it like it was a beloved friend that I hadn’t seen in ages. I refrained from hugging it, folded it and tucked it in behind the front seats. It turned out that it mattered more to me than I had ever thought. Somehow, its disappearance affected my faith in people.

What do you think? Did I overreact? Do you have a similar story to share? How did you feel when someone took something from you?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Suzanne Stengl (@suzannestengl) on April 30, 2012 - 11:15 PM

    Sounds like someone DID borrow it and just forgot where the “right” place was. When I used to live in an apartment complex, there was a grocery store nearby. Our building always had one of the grocery store’s carts by the elevator. We would unload groceries to that cart, take it upstairs and then bring it back. The cart was always there when I needed it. I think everyone appreciated having it by the elevator so there were always quick to return it.

  2. #2 by Tele on April 29, 2012 - 5:25 PM

    Thanks for stopping by Hooked, Patricia! This sounds very familiar… I’m frequently leaving things tucked away in semi-public places that I’ll be returning to later, with the belief that my trust in people’s best will be rewarded. So far, mostly so good… I’m glad that your cart came home to you!

  3. #3 by hmcmullin on April 28, 2012 - 11:13 PM

    I’d have felt the same. It might be “just” a cart, but it’s yours and you do feel violated when that happens. I’m glad you got it back.

  4. #4 by patriciasands on April 28, 2012 - 10:38 PM

    I would have felt the same. It’s not about the value, but the principle. I’m glad you found your cart waiting for you. I’m sure it’s happy to be home.

    • #5 by Patricia Caviglia on April 29, 2012 - 11:14 AM

      The cart was happy to be back in my service yesterday and has safely returned to its spot in the kitchen. 😉

Leave a Reply

