Transformation Tuesday: Kids Help Phone


Welcome back to Transformation Tuesdays!

This little column is usually about my transformation but not today. Well, sort of not.

Last year around this time, I got a small unexpected windfall of cash. It only seemed right to donate part of it to charity. Pay it forward, right? I was searching for the right organization when one of my co-workers came along with a pledge form and asked me to support his daughter who was raising funds for Kids Help Phone. Call that coincidence, but I’d rather call it order in the universe.

Kids Help Phone is a free, anonymous and confidential professional counselling service available to all kids across Canada through the internet or by phone. The girl in question had benefited from Kids Help Phone and was doing her part by collecting donations and participating in their annual walk.

This year, it’s my turn to participate in the Walk So Kids Can Talk campaign. I’ve decided to make the 5 km walk talking place on May 6 across Canada. But I can’t show up there empty-handed, so I’m asking you to pledge me and support kids across the country who have no one to turn to as they deal with violence, abuse, difficult friendships, relationships and family dynamics, sexual orientation, bullying, and so much more. Some people want to relive their childhoods, I’m not one of those people. Are you? As an adult, you can see where things would have been different either in your life or in a loved one’s if someone had cared or if someone had guided that child differently. So, be that someone today, pledge me or donate directly to Kids Help Phone.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by real cigarette on September 15, 2014 - 1:29 AM

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was seeking this certain information for a
    long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  2. #2 by Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson on April 19, 2012 - 9:14 AM

    What a wonderful cause! I hope you have great weather for your walk. May the program raise scads of money!

    • #3 by Patricia Caviglia on April 19, 2012 - 10:09 AM

      So far, I’ve raised my goal once and plan on raising it a 2nd time. I’ve also teamed up with a co-worker who is also working hard to bring in the donations. This is wonderful. I’m so glad I decided to do this.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  3. #4 by Tameri Etherton on April 17, 2012 - 4:04 PM

    This is so terrific! I’m going to see if there is a program like this in the US. I’ve sent you a little donation ~ I hope you make your goal! Have fun on the walk.

    • #5 by Patricia Caviglia on April 19, 2012 - 12:57 AM

      Thanks Tameri! Any and all donations are much appreciated.

      I hope there is something like Kids Help Phone in the US and let us of know if we can do anything to support the organization.

  4. #6 by patriciasands on April 17, 2012 - 3:57 PM

    Reblogged this on Patricia Sands' Blog and commented:
    Today I’m reblogging Patricia Caviglia’s latest post. Patricia is a very talented writer and great friend and, YAY, we actually get to see each other in person!!! Whether we are attending our local Writers & Editors Network monthly breakfast meeting together or a 6-hour outdoor rock concert in a park (seriously … and she didn’t care that I was the oldest person there … neither did I!) , we always have a lot of laughs and great conversation. Besides that, I’m here to attest to the fact she makes a mean gnocchi tricolore from scratch! I’m happy to support this latest project of hers and hope you might join in too and pass it on. Thanks!

  5. #7 by patriciasands on April 17, 2012 - 3:06 PM

    What a good idea! Of course I will support you and I’m going to reblog this. I’ll talk to you first.

  6. #9 by Tami Clayton on April 17, 2012 - 12:39 PM

    What a great cause to support, Patricia! Kudos to you for doing the 5K! As a mental health professional, these issues are important to me as well. Kids need somewhere supportive to turn when there’s nowhere else to go. I’m so glad this organization exists.

  1. Kids Help Phone Update « Patricia Caviglia

Leave a Reply

