Vicious Cycle


Finally. It’s over. I think, sighing. Since Thursday, I’d been waiting for the moment and here it is.  I add the orange cap and the empty carton of orange juice to the recyclables. I’m happy, another item in my fridge gone. More space and no waste. I smile a little. I imagine that if anyone saw it, they would think it’s a Mona Lisa smile. A barely there kind of smile, that’s more about the glint in one’s eyes than about the formation the lips take.

I locate my vitamins and notice the speed of my heartbeat. As my chest constricts slightly, my desire for breakfast evaporates although my stomach grumbles. Where’s my Blackberry? I look over my right shoulder. It’s usually on the pass-thru between the kitchen and dinning room but not this morning. As I conduct a wild-eyed search for the phone in the living room, my daughter asks for her cereal but I ignore the little high-pitched voice and proceed down the hall. I just need a few seconds. I’ll get her breakfast after that.

I find the phone on my bureau. I exhale through my nose. I click on the Memo pad, scroll down to the memo entitled “Shopping,” under “Groceries” I add “OJ.” My chest loosens, my breaths deepen, my heart slows down. Crisis averted. I will not forget to replenish the OJ supply in my fridge, I will fill the space on the shelf with a new carton, and I will not relieve this moment for about two weeks – the time it takes me to finish a carton. Although I’m bound to run out of something else before that. Sigh.

How do you react when you run out of a staple in your home? What makes you happiest – finishing a product, recycling a product, or the opportunity to replace it? By the way, the Toronto Blue Jays won their first two games of the season. 🙂

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by corajramos on April 11, 2012 - 1:53 PM

    Coffee, I panic if I’m out of coffee beans. I scrounge around looking for any shred of coffee I might have hiding–like coffee packs from motels that I didn’t use and confiscated, or those individual packets from Starbucks that you buy in case of emergencies (which this would be), or maybe some stale ground coffee in a can that I bought in a grocery store somewhere in the sticks while on a long ago camping trip.

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on April 12, 2012 - 8:16 AM

      I sense a coffee theme amidst these comments. It’s definitely an important part of my day too.

  2. #3 by lwsapir on April 9, 2012 - 3:17 PM

    I need coffee. And horrible French Vanilla creamer (I have no idea when that became an addiction, but it did!) I have been known to panic when I run out of either item…Really must get a grip on my caffeine use!

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on April 9, 2012 - 5:38 PM

      =D There are worse addictions although you might want to switch to decaf for the sake of your nervous system. It makes a huge difference.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

      • #5 by lwsapir on April 9, 2012 - 10:14 PM

        It probably says something that my blood pressure rose just thinking about switching to decaf…lol. I know…I know…*sigh*

  3. #6 by Sara Walpert Foster on April 9, 2012 - 11:34 AM

    I am always running out of staples because I think I checked when I didn’t and then I go to the store and don’t buy what I need. How can I cook without olive oil? That was last week. Saturday night was “no garlic for a garlic cheese pizza. Damn.” I could use a little of your “OCD”.

    • #7 by Patricia Caviglia on April 9, 2012 - 5:31 PM

      No olive oil! I can’t even think about it.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  4. #8 by jodileastewart on April 9, 2012 - 11:12 AM

    I have to say I think you might have a little OCD, but that’s okay! Stay on top of it, girlfriend! Fun post.

    • #9 by Patricia Caviglia on April 9, 2012 - 5:29 PM

      Oh, I think I have OCD too. There are worse things so I’ll take it. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  5. #10 by Darlene Steelman on April 8, 2012 - 5:41 AM

    omg.. I need two things every morning.. OJ and eggs… if I don’t have OJ I feel incomplete.. and if I don’t eat eggs, I feel like crap all morning..
    My power breakfast each morning is orange juice, scrambled eggs (with pepper) and toast.

    Great post, Patricia.

Leave a Reply

