Yammy Music


There are hams and there are yams. My favorite yam is Mamma Yamma. She’s a hammy yam. And she’s cool too. She has some of Canada’s best musicians on her show. Since Mamma Yamma is part of the CBC Kids lineup, artists tend to re-write the lyrics of their singles to suit the young audience.

Joel Plaskett’s Fashionable People is one of my favorites.

Do you have a favorite kids’ tv show host? What did you think of this version of Fashionable People?  Do you have any good yam recipes?

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by David Jones on April 12, 2012 - 12:10 PM

    My wife and I raised two boys, and I have often been glad that I did not have to raise girls.

    I remember one incident that happened while we were out having dinner one evening. The younger of the two boys, for whatever reason, decided that he had a question that was burning in his soul, to ask. He asked us why some people made the decision to have surgery to have a sex change.

    I remember sitting across from him and staring at him with probably an odd look on my face. I looked across the aisle at the table next to us where an older couple were sitting, and they both were staring at us. They had smiles on their faces that seemed to indicate that they had raise children, and knew that these kinds of questions came up now and then during childrearing years. The gentleman looked at me smiling and said, “I cannot wait to hear what you have to say.”

    I looked back at my son, and decided that the only way to answer his question was with the truth. While not getting into the long drawn out explanation that I tried to give to him, I can say that I tried to give him as honest an explanation as possible.

    When I completed the answer to his question, I turned and looked at the couple sitting across the aisle, and the woman no longer had a smile on her face. In fact, she seemed rather disgusted with me. The gentleman was still smiling. The woman pulled out a card, extending her hand across the aisle. Turns out, she was a psychologist at the University of Arizona. She made the comment. “You need to make an appointment with me. You seem to have some serious issues that need to be resolved.”

    Both of my kids seemed to grow up okay. To the best of my knowledge, they did not use drugs or drink on a regular basis during their school years. One works for the sheriff’s department in Georgia, and the other owns his own business in Colorado. Although I must say that, the one that owns his businesses has started to drink. He is 40 now, so I am not sure you can blame that on me.

    There were other memorable incidents like this one. The night they both came home from a party and ended up wrapping their legs around the commode in their bathroom. They took turns throwing up in the commode. They woke their mom up, and she walked, in the bathroom, to see what was going on. She could not help but take a picture of these two kids throwing up together. She calls it true love of the commode.

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on April 12, 2012 - 11:53 PM

      My experience with mental health professionals hasn’t been good and I’m not surprised that she judged you. If the humorous way in which you handled the commode incident is any indication, you and your wife probably did an awesome job at raising your children.

  2. #3 by Patricia Caviglia on April 3, 2012 - 11:26 PM

    CBC Kids is on every morning starting at 7.

  3. #4 by patriciasands on April 3, 2012 - 11:15 PM

    I’ve got to make sure my grandchildren watch this show! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

