The Boys of Summer Are Back!


This post is a follow-up to Fever Pitch where I admitted to being on my way to becoming a baseball fan-addict.

I was overjoyed to hear Alan Ashby and Jerry Howarth on the Fan590 again a few weekends ago broadcasting a Blue Jays spring training game. It made me smile. Their voices brought on inner peace. Yes, inner peace. Seriously, that’s what an addict finds when the addiction is satisfied, isn’t it? No more watching baseball movies to get my fix. No more wishing, longing, yearning, daydreaming. Winter is over and spring training well underway.

Furthermore, there’s a whole season, 162 games People, to look forward to. I must be insane but I’m ecstatic! I’m checking out the schedule, carefully picking the games I want to attend. The choices are mind-boggling: Bobblehead giveaways, Fan Appreciation Days, Summer Friday Fan Festival games, the list goes on. So far, I’ve only chosen one. That’s okay. It’s not a fast game, so I don’t need to act fast. It’s all about slowing down and appreciating human skill.

Anyone think I’m nuts yet? Are you following your team’s spring training? Any suggestions from Blue Jays fans about which games to attend?

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by livrancourt on March 26, 2012 - 12:23 AM

    Hey, the Mariners played some spring training games in Japan this weekend, and I had friends posting about it on FB. I totally kow where you’re coming from.
    😉

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on March 26, 2012 - 11:32 AM

      Seems like once you’re bitten by the baseball bug, there’s no cure.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  2. #3 by Catherine Johnson on March 23, 2012 - 8:53 PM

    While I don’t share your love of base ball I am the same with F1 motor racing. I love discovering other like-minded sports fans. Enjoy the season!

  3. #5 by Patricia Sands on March 22, 2012 - 11:59 PM

    You are too funny! I hope your Jays reward your loyalty with a good season.

    • #6 by Patricia Caviglia on March 23, 2012 - 7:44 AM

      Funny nutty?
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  4. #7 by S. M. Nonnemacher on March 22, 2012 - 11:32 PM

    I am following my teams very closely, watching every televised game on TV, and listening to more on the radio. I, too, am addicted. And thrilled to not have to watch Fever Pitch every week to get my fix!! 😉
    Two weeks from now, it won’t be spring training anymore. As much as I love spring training, I am soooo ready for the real thing!! 😉

Leave a Reply

