The Best Birthday Ever


Prior to the birthday, I thought about going up north for a night, treating myself to some snow fun and maybe an afternoon or evening at a thermal spa . While it sounded wonderful, I didn’t feel like it. There was too much for me to do around here.

digitalart

I woke up on birthday feeling sad because I had no plans. My four-year-old could not be expected to remember such a date so the day started as every other day. Later that morning, a friend texted me his wishes and that turned around my mood a little.

As I worked away, I started thinking what I could do to make this a happy day: throw a party for two, just me and my daughter. I made a list of what we would need:

  1. Flowers because I love them and because the ones I had bought the week before were losing their petals. 🙂
  2. Balloons to set the mood.
  3. Party hats. Would a four-year-old think it was right to have a birthday party without them?
  4. And of course, a cake. Some people must have friends around on their birthday. Some must go out. Others must receive presents. I NEED a cake.

Armed with my list, I left work on my lunch break and picked up everything we needed for the party. By the end of the work day, I was excited which seemed a little silly. When I picked up my daughter from school, she dawdled as children tend to do. I said, “Hurry, it’s Mama’s birthday. We’re going to have a party.”

Her face lit up. “Your birthday?” she asked.

“Yes.”

And she hugged me. (I love those hugs!)

When we got home, she took charge. “I need to put on my party dress,” she announced. Once she was dressed in her blue velvet full-skirt with petty coat Holiday dress and black ballerina slippers, she said, “Go put on yours.” I told her that I didn’t want to. She insisted. I let her chose for me. Her choice was a pink (her favorite color) cotton peasant dress. “What party shoes are you going to wear?” she inquired. (This was too good!) She suggested some strappy high heels, I went for some mid-heel thongs which satisfied her.

As I set the kitchen table for supper, she cried “No, not here! Over there.” She wanted to eat on the dinning room table. I almost refused but why not? It was my birthday after all. She ran to the china cabinet for the good china. I couldn’t believe it. We went all out-I even served her ice tea in a gold trimmed champagne flute. And we ate a lovely meal while wearing our party hats.

I brought out the cake with a single candle on top. At the sight, my daughter started singing “Happy Birthday” followed by “Are you 1?” She stopped after 3, looked at me, and asked, “How old are you?” I couldn’t help but laugh and told her to skip to 38. We blew out the candle together and took some silly pictures.

After we finished our cake, she asked “So what party games are we playing?” This was brilliant! As it was a weeknight, I suggested we play some bathtub games which she promptly agreed to.

It was my best birthday ever!

Do you have a best birthday ever story to share? What do your kids do that amaze you? What is your must-have on your birthday?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Tami Clayton on March 8, 2012 - 1:27 PM

    What a sweet birthday story! Belated birthday wishes to you.

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on March 8, 2012 - 7:01 PM

      LOL! I’m getting more birthday wishes now that on the actual day. Thank you all.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  2. #3 by livrancourt on March 8, 2012 - 4:52 AM

    Happy Birthday! Glad you had such a lovely one.

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on March 8, 2012 - 7:48 AM

      Thank you Liv!
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  3. #5 by patriciasands on March 7, 2012 - 11:15 PM

    Wonderful … really wonderful!

  4. #6 by Suzanne Stengl (@suzannestengl) on March 7, 2012 - 3:28 PM

    for me, I need the cake and the candles. even if it’s just a slice of cake.

    Your daughter sounds very special. Happy belated birthday to you!

    • #7 by Patricia Caviglia on March 7, 2012 - 7:51 PM

      Thanks Suzanne.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  5. #8 by Gloria Richard Author on March 7, 2012 - 12:45 PM

    I can’t top this story, Patricia. Your daughters insistence on dressing for the party, setting the table for your special day in the dining versus living room, the cake, the candle…

    It was a grin-worthy, Kodak kind of day for you, I’m sure. Happy belated birthday. And, thanks for all your blog love.

    • #9 by Patricia Caviglia on March 7, 2012 - 7:49 PM

      It sure was a special.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  6. #10 by Joan Leacott on March 7, 2012 - 8:55 AM

    Amazing what four-year-olds absorb about life. Your daughter sounds so incredibly precious. My favourite birthday party is when I cooked the exact meal I wanted and my husband added all the extras–flowers, wine, candles, music. No dressing up required.

    • #11 by Patricia Caviglia on March 7, 2012 - 7:48 PM

      Sounds like you had an ideal birthday.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  7. #12 by Catherine Johnson on March 7, 2012 - 3:44 AM

    Awh that’s lovely. Belated Happy Birthday to you!

    • #13 by Patricia Caviglia on March 7, 2012 - 7:34 AM

      Thanks Catherine.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

Leave a Reply

