Transformation Tuesdays


Welcome to Transformation Tuesdays!

Transformation seems to be a theme for me this year. I have a lot of plans this year that involve reinventing myself and my surroundings. I’ve decided to post my progress here every other Tuesday. I hope you enjoy my transformation theme posts.

About My Ride

For the last nine years, I’ve driven a silver 2001 Pontiac Sunfire GT stick, with a 2.4 L engine, a sunroof, mags, and Monsoon sound system. I love my car. I was a hot mama before I became a mama. I bought it off a co-worker in 2003 and never regretted it. I picked up her car payments half way through, definitely getting the better end of the deal. The engine had 55 000 km on it. It now stands at over  260 000.

In my Sunfire, I have cried, laughed, sung at the top of my lungs, cursed the traffic, daydreamed, made decisions, passed SUVs stuck on snowy hills (Thanks to my winter tires.),  toted furniture, moved to Toronto, and filled it with camping gear. As all new parents, I considered getting a more practical ride but it wasn’t in the budget. So I drove my BabyGirl around in my muscle car. I swung the baby carrier into the back seat and scrunched myself in to attach it to the base after she was born. She has graduated to a booster seat but I still climb in to do her seatbelt. It sounds like a pain, but I don’t think of it that way as my daughter and I sing Kanaan’s Waving Flag together while we drive around, play I Spy or argue about going shopping (She loves to shop, I don’t).

Out With the Old, In With the New

If I had the money, I would put in a new engine, fix all the little glitches like the now defunct backup lights, change out the electric windows motor which no longer works when it’s humid and even get the interior detailed (Cleaning my car is so low on my priority list that I’m really proud if I vacuum it once a year.). I would keep the car as my hot mama ride. Unfortunately, that’s not possible. It’s time for something new, something a little more spacious, a little more comfortable, a little more family like.

Upon the suggestion of a friend, I headed to Canadian International AutoShow on Saturday. This was a brilliant idea: everything under one roof, no salespeople hassling me, and no disappointing trips to the dealerships. My list dwindle from every make and model out there to three.

The Scion XB is a little too Euro for me but I liked it none the less.

When I sat in the VW Tiguan, I was home.

The KIA Sportage ain’t no Tiguan but I think this is what I’ll end up buying. It fits the budget, is comfortable and I like the look, especially in that yellow-green.

What area of your life are you transforming right now? What’s your ride? Do you have a comment to make about the cars that I’m considering? What do you think I should go for?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Barbara Forte Abate on April 4, 2012 - 8:00 AM

    I don’t know enough about cars these days to offer valuable opinion, but I know colors and that Yellow/Green Kia would look gorgeous with your hair 😀

  2. #2 by Kim Griffin on March 2, 2012 - 8:01 AM

    I like the VW or the Kia. The Kia is a cool color! My ride is a Toyota Sienna ~ not my first choice, but it’s been a reliable vehicle.

    Enjoy your new SUV ~ whichever you choose!

    • #3 by Patricia Caviglia on March 2, 2012 - 3:24 PM

      Thanks Kim. I’ll be booking testdrives for this month.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  3. #4 by Emmie Mears on March 1, 2012 - 1:39 PM

    I don’t know what their warranty is like in Canada, but I’ve had a few friends have very poor experiences with their Kia cars. My college roommate’s engine caught fire at 56,000 miles (well below the 100,000 mile warranty they offer here), and they refused to fix it on a technicality. I would definitely read up on the longevity reports and reviews of whatever car you decide to get to make sure that you’re getting something that will last you!

    • #5 by Patricia Caviglia on March 1, 2012 - 7:25 PM

      Thank you. That’s definitely something to consider as I plan on keeping the car for a decade.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  4. #6 by Suzanne Stengl on February 29, 2012 - 2:29 PM

    I really like that yellow one . . . And I like your idea of Transformation Tuesdays every other Tuesday. You’re committed now, you’ve got to show up here!

    Also, re the car, I don’t know much about cars, but cup holders are important to me. The right size and placement. After that it’s colour. And yes, I really like that yellow one :o)

    • #7 by Patricia Caviglia on March 1, 2012 - 7:20 PM

      Cupholders? I never thought of that. After budget, my biggest concern was room for my camping gear. We all have our priorities. 🙂
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  5. #8 by Carrie Daws (@CarrieDaws) on February 29, 2012 - 1:10 PM

    Your Sunfire reminds me of my Geo Storm. LOVED that car — but, alas, it was not car seat friendly and it had to go. Now I drive an Expedition because I so frequently seem to need to carry four to six kids somewhere….

    • #9 by Patricia Caviglia on March 1, 2012 - 7:17 PM

      That must be LOUD. 😉
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  6. #10 by Christopher Zara on February 29, 2012 - 8:39 AM

    My ride is the subway, but I dream of one day owning a boat and having everyone call me Captain.

  7. #12 by patriciasands on February 28, 2012 - 9:27 PM

    Sounds like your visit to the Auto Show was a good idea! Love the colour of your potential new wheels.

    • #13 by Patricia Caviglia on February 28, 2012 - 11:11 PM

      I will probably pick a more sober color at purchase, but in the mean time, I’m going to dream a little.

  8. #14 by Darlene Steelman on February 28, 2012 - 1:01 PM

    For sure a fun post! I have a Pontiac.. though, not as kick ass as yours! I like the Kia the best. Family oriented with a little bad ass left in it.. 🙂

    Good luck in your quest!

  9. #16 by Jodi Lea Stewart on February 28, 2012 - 11:16 AM

    Fun post, Patricia! Let us know which car you choose.

    • #17 by Patricia Caviglia on February 28, 2012 - 12:09 PM

      Thanks Jodi.

      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  10. #18 by Joan Leacott on February 28, 2012 - 10:10 AM

    Hey Patricia, The Auto Show is an awesome place to shop for a car? Have you ever been to the Boat Show? My ride’s a 2001 Subaru Outback. It’s a little big for the city (hell to park), but perfect for tooling to cottage country (heaven to pack). Have fun with your new wheels!

Leave a Reply

