Emmie Mears summed up the hopes and fears of many current writers with an open letter to New York publishers. It is beautiful, moving and to the point. I had to reblog it.

Dear New York,

I love you.

When I went to the city for a conference this year and came face-to-face with agents and editors for the first time, it made me tear up. I stumbled upon Random House whilst walking around the city, saw the lobby lined with books from floor to ceiling. I wanted to go in. I wanted to walk in and just stand for a minute. Traditional publishers have made so many books possible. They’ve made dreams come true for many, many people.

I’ve been a writer since I could hold a pen. It’s been my dream to see my book on a shelf. To feel the spine, the covers, to feel the pages flip in my hands. It’s been my dream to work toward that result with others who love books and stories. I know I’m not alone, but in this rapidly changing era of publishing…

View original post 802 more words

  1. #1 by Patricia Sands on February 24, 2012 - 7:49 AM

    You are so right. I saw this on Emmie’s blog and we need to pass it on to as many people as possible.

Leave a Reply

