Fever Pitch


A few years ago, I watched Fever Pitch, a movie about a woman who falls in love with a Boston Red Sox uber-fan. I pitied her.  And then, it happened to me.  (God has a perverse sense of humor.)

The Numbers

I quickly realized how important baseball was to my new man, so I set out to learn about it. I vowed that I would never become a baseball fan but since the game was so important to him, I thought I should learn something about it. At first, I was confused. Then, I realized that it’s a numbers game and an actuary’s degree might be necessary. Finally,  winter came and baseball season was over. (God is good.)

Oh No, Wait!

There’s a way around that: winter baseball-played in Central and South America. Dear God, please help. At this point, I didn’t want hear about baseball and for the most part, I didn’t. I was very grateful for the respite.

A Divine Joke

My boyfriend texted from Florida during spring training to tell me that he’d met so-and-so at a bar, that so-and-so was looking good, that he’d gotten so-and-so’s autograph, etc. I took that as the cue to renew my efforts and start studying the game again. I figured that to really learn about the game, I would have to become a spectator. I started tuning in to Toronto Blue Jays games on the radio. The more, I listened to the games, the more questions I asked, the clearer it all became.

One day, I tuned in because I wanted to. God, what’s going on?

Throughout the season, I took my daughter to her first game in July; I bought myself a baseball cap; I started watching the games on TV; I went to a game with my alumni association; and I bought another baseball cap. By the end of the season, I was officially a fan.

Baseball Fan or Fan-addict

It’s gotten worse. No longer am I “just” a Toronto Blue Jays fan, I am now a baseball fan. I checked out season tickets when they became available. I have already planned my merchandise purchases for the coming season.

Cute, eh?

I have considered going down to Florida for spring training. I got goosebumps when I learned that all the players on the Jays forty man roster would report for training today.  There are moments when I find myself aching to listen to a baseball game. I’m watching movies about baseball just so I can get a baseball fix. I am well on my way to becoming a baseball addict.

Who’s your team? Did you ever swear that you would never …, but you did? What do you think of that hoodie? 😉

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Winona Yidiaris on November 29, 2012 - 3:17 AM

    Baseball is a nice game, my kids love it and my friends love it too. ;

    <a href="My blog site
    http://www.prettygoddess.com/index.php?board=4.0

  2. #2 by Ellen Gregory on February 24, 2012 - 7:00 AM

    ummm… Australian here.

    Netball is my sport. Go Vixens!

    And cricket.

  3. #3 by Julie Farrar on February 23, 2012 - 8:57 AM

    St. Louis Cardinals since birth! Go, Cards! In my house we were counting the days until spring training started.

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on February 23, 2012 - 9:48 PM

      I found out that my local sports radio will air Jays spring training games if there’s nothing better on. First game, March 3rd. I can’t wait!

  4. #5 by Liv Rancourt on February 22, 2012 - 2:56 PM

    Seattle Mariners, BABY!
    Actually, the Mariners aren’t, well, all that familiar with the concept of winning. And the only game I went to last season was “Sonics Night at the Mariners” to honor the late great Seattle SuperSonics basketball team. And boy was that ever depressing, b/c not only did some dude from Oklahoma steal our b-ball team, but the Mariner’s lost like 8 – 0. And don’t even get me started on the Seahawks…
    😉

    • #6 by Patricia Caviglia on February 23, 2012 - 9:52 PM

      You need a hug. >:D<

      It's a brand new season and you have King Felix for another 5 years!

  5. #7 by S. M. Nonnemacher on February 21, 2012 - 11:36 AM

    Love this post!! 🙂 (And Fever PItch is one of my favorite RomComs)

    I grew up as a Phillies fan, but, to be honest, I was more of a Phanatic fan than a fan of the team. 🙂 (How can you not love that big goofy green guy?) In my early 20s, I started following baseball a little more because a guy I was dating was really into that HR race in the late 90s. We broke up, and I stopped following it again.

    Then, about 5 years ago, the Phillies Triple-A team built a new stadium about 4 miles from my house. I have always loved goign to baseball games–the people, the atmosphere, the scent of the fresh grass, the food–all of it. We started going to a lot of games. Before long, we saw players getting pulled up to play at the Phillies, so I started watching those games on TV (or in person, when we can get down there).

    Before long, we had an 18-game mini plan to the Pigs (Triple-A), and I was watching every televised Phillies game I could on TV. I even get the package so I can watch the Phillies games on my phone while I am at the Pigs games. Yup, I am addicted. 😀

    We did talk about going to Spring Training this year, but it didn’t work out. we are hoping to go next year. Fortunately, my husband is a Red Sox fan, and both teams have spring training in Tampa, so it would be easy to coordinate between the two teams. 🙂

    Oh, and the sweatshirt–Awesome!! 🙂

    • #8 by Patricia Caviglia on February 23, 2012 - 10:00 PM

      And I love your response!

      I’m still not into Triple-A but the Jays have a young team and there is a bit of back and forth that goes on so I suspect that it’s coming. As for MLB.TV, I’m looking into it since I found out this week that I could watch the spring training games. Addiction can be so much fun. LOL!

  6. #9 by April Plummer (@April_Plummer) on February 21, 2012 - 10:23 AM

    When I was younger, I did that. I was in 8th grade, and the boy I was crushing on loved the Toronto Bluejays. I quickly became a fan. My mom teased me and said it was just because of my crush, but I denied it. I even watched the World Series.

    Now…nope. Not really all that interested. My husband only watches football, and though I’m a Redskins fan born and raised, I don’t care that much. It’s all background for me.

    • #10 by Patricia Caviglia on February 22, 2012 - 12:51 AM

      Even if you’re not a fan, it’s still fun to go to a game. It screams “SUMMER!!!”
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  7. #11 by patriciasands on February 21, 2012 - 10:02 AM

    What? This is the big reveal. How could I know you and not know this? I’m not a baseball fan but enjoy sitting in the bleachers and watching/listening to the interactions of the crowd. Now that’s entertainment! Seriously, I think it’s cool to be a fan and avidly support a team … a home team, in particular. Go Blue Jays!

    • #12 by Patricia Caviglia on February 22, 2012 - 12:48 AM

      We’ll have to go to a game this summer. We’ll have a blast!
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  1. The Boys of Summer Are Back! « Patricia Caviglia

Leave a Reply

