A Gentle Nudge


Photography by BJWOK

Being the kind of person who makes a decision and sticks to it until the end, I rarely feel like giving up on writing. One reason is that I know it would be the wrong decision to make. Never the less, there are moments when I need a boot to the head or some divine inspiration.

Here are three posts that gave me a gentle nudge recently:

A Writer’s Fitness Plan. How To Work Writing Into Your Daily Life by Sue Bradford Edwards

Writing For Life: 5 Practical Goals for Writers by Joanna Penn

3 Steps to Freedom-Grab Hold of Your Brilliant Future by Kristen Lamb

Do you ever doubt your choice to live out your dream? What keeps you from giving up on it? How do you renew your commitment?

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by SJ Driscoll on February 9, 2012 - 9:17 AM

    I’ve given up writing so many times, and come back to it each time. Writing isn’t as big a part of my life as I need it to be, at least not while I have my job, but it’s right here at my core. Writing and being outside. I may not write or be outside as much as I need to, but my soul will always be in both places.

  2. #3 by Erica Miles on February 8, 2012 - 12:13 AM

    It sounds crazy, but I have something I call my Black Book. It’s based on a time-management method called ‘funneling’, where I printed a version of a calendar book based on Planner Pads (https://plannerpads.com/concept.asp). I have different life areas listed across the top of the pages (Writing, Web Development, Business, Spiritual, Household, Health, etc.) which I fill in on Sunday night for the next week. Then each item gets pulled down onto a day and approximate time below. Should I find myself getting overwhelmed or discouraged, the answer is usually on those pages. A glance lets me know when things are out of balance (e.g., too much Business and my Spiritual list has been neglected). Keeps everything in balance.

    Thanks for the links!

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on February 9, 2012 - 10:31 PM

      That’s a great way to stay in sinc with your daily life and your goals. Thanks for sharing that.

  3. #5 by Barbara Forte Abate on February 7, 2012 - 5:24 PM

    Thanks for posting these terrific links. It seems terribly unrealistic to think every writing day will be a marvel, and yet sometimes it can be hard to remember why we love to do this day-after-day-after-day. There have been a couple of time in my life when I felt I’d been kicked one to many times and swore off the keyboard for all eternity. It was pretty serious — at least 48 hrs before I came slinking back to my desk! I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m pretty much a sworn prisoner-of-the-pen at this point, lol.

    • #6 by Patricia Caviglia on February 9, 2012 - 10:29 PM

      If disillusion only hit you for 48 hrs, you’re way ahead of the pack.

  4. #7 by Tami Clayton on February 7, 2012 - 3:38 PM

    Great post. I am similar to Ellen in that my determination ebbs and flows, usually based on my stress level, obligations to family and work, and what has recently inspired me in my reading. Thanks for the links!

  5. #9 by April Plummer (@April_Plummer) on February 7, 2012 - 10:05 AM

    Thanks for the links! I think sometimes, we all are guilty of losing our excitement for our dreams, and when that happens, we doubt them. I think between the PTA meetings and the swim lessons, the horse back riding lessons, the family obligations and the 9-5 job…it’s very easy to let life get in the way. For me it then ends up overwhelming, and I think there’s no way I can make all this happen the way I want! But we push on. We read – blogs and books. We talk to our friends or our husbands. We maybe shamelessly ask them for encouragement.

    And we pick that pen back up and write.

    • #10 by Patricia Caviglia on February 9, 2012 - 10:25 PM

      I usually do get down when I’m overwhelmed. Writing seems to be the first thing I drop simply because it is a dream. Eventually, I ask myself “Do I want to dream or do I want the dream to be a reality?” I always pick reality.

  6. #11 by gabrielrumbaut on February 7, 2012 - 7:16 AM

    Great post! Thanks!

  7. #12 by Darlene Steelman on February 7, 2012 - 6:51 AM

    Patricia, thanks for the great links! 🙂 Have an awesome day.

    • #13 by Patricia Caviglia on February 8, 2012 - 12:56 AM

      Nice to see you around here Darlene! I’m glad you enjoyed the posts.
      Sent from my BlackBerry device on the Rogers Wireless Network

  8. #14 by Ellen on February 7, 2012 - 5:43 AM

    For me it’s very cyclic — one day I’m fully of determination and pursuing the dream, another day (usually when I read something awesome) I decide I could never be that good and wonder what I’m doing!

    • #15 by Patricia Caviglia on February 9, 2012 - 10:20 PM

      Ellen, I think if you keep writing you will be that good because practice makes perfect. A pitcher may have shown talent early on, but the skill is developed over years.

Leave a Reply

