Is the Vampire Trend Dead?


Recently, I read an article that the vampire trend is dead. I’m so far from the In crowd that I can’t comment on this. All good(?) things must come to an end, right? The vampire trend went viral with movies, books, TV shows, t-shirts, makeup, music, coffee mugs(!), etc. Why?

The world has changed. While I was growing up, the internet was still a baby. In high school, computer classes meant learning how to type from a game in which letters fell from the top of the screen and we had to hit the letter on the keyboard before it fell to the bottom. We used DOS and saved documents on to diskettes.

By the time, I bought my first computer in 1995, the modem was an option I had to add if I wanted connectivity (Did we even use this word then?). To be In, we watched the cool kids, read magazines and monitored celebrities through entertainment news.

While there are multiple vampires and other fantasy characters to choose from today, ice cream came in vanilla or chocolate in the 80s and 90s. I only remember two vampire slayers: Dr. Van Helsing and, about a century apart, Buffy.

Other fantasy characters that mainly came in the singular were Highlander who protected his neck and saved mortals from evil Immortals.

And the witches of Charmed bred with angels and demons while saving the world from the gruesome hell beneath San Francisco.

What do you think of the vampire trend? Are there any trends you miss? What were/are some of your favorite fantasy characters?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by S. M. Nonnemacher on February 1, 2012 - 11:22 AM

    I loved Buffy and Charmed, but I have never seen Highlander. I think that the vampire trend will always be there to some extent, but there will be waves of higher/lower popularity. 🙂

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on February 4, 2012 - 10:46 PM

      Agreed. While I enjoy vampire fiction, I’m currently tired of hearing about it.

  2. #3 by Erica on January 31, 2012 - 3:06 PM

    Thanks for reminding us about the old MS-DOS lol..as far as the fangs and fur trend which I mention here: http://thewriteweb.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/what-agents-are-tired-of-seeing-trending-fangs-and-fur/, the vamp literature hold some lore and thrill but should be repackaged fresh like how Stehenie Meyer did with Twlight.

    I would like to take a serious poll on this matter from those who typically read fantasy.

    Great post!

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on February 4, 2012 - 10:44 PM

      That’s a great post. Thanks for sharing the link.

      • #5 by Erica on February 4, 2012 - 11:00 PM

        You’re welcome!

  3. #6 by MSMillerAU on January 30, 2012 - 6:16 PM

    Vampires have totally passed me by I have to admit. But now, computers, I co-owned a Commodore 64 as soon as they were released, I know what punch cards are although they stopped using them the year before I started work as a programmer – so yes the world has changed , is changing, will change some more and I guess there will always be vampires to suck our blood in one way or another. LOL

    • #7 by Patricia Caviglia on February 4, 2012 - 10:34 PM

      I remember Commodore 64 and Atari. The only kids who owned them were those whose parents either had money and were in to gadgets or the ones who worked in computers. As a kid, I thought “There must be better things to do than spend your time on this.” Little did I know that, years later, I would spend 8 hours a day working a computer, then come home and spend another 4 on another one.

  4. #8 by patriciasands on January 30, 2012 - 5:47 PM

    I even liked Highlander! Go figure!

  5. #10 by Emmie Mears on January 30, 2012 - 11:39 AM

    I actually just posted about this very topic the other day. I don’t think vampires will ever go away. They’ve been around in media since Dracula, and as long as they continue to evolve and spawn excellent books, movies, and shows, they will remain relevant. I think they’ll postmodernize along with the rest of the world. Heh.

    • #11 by Patricia Caviglia on February 4, 2012 - 10:24 PM

      What will we do if they keep growing in numbers? Where are Van Helsing and Buffy? 😉

  6. #12 by lwsapir on January 30, 2012 - 11:07 AM

    Love this post, Patricia! Not only did you remind me of Vampire shows I had long forgotten (Buffy) but reading this really took me back:
    “In high school, computer classes meant learning how to type from a game in which letters fell from the top of the screen and we had to hit the letter on the keyboard before it fell to the bottom. We used DOS and saved documents on to diskettes.”

    DId anyone else play the Oregon Trail? That was mainly what we did in computer class when I was growing up. Maybe its time for a remake of the game… with Vampires.

  7. #14 by Barbara Forte Abate on January 29, 2012 - 10:47 PM

    I think there are way too many vampire lovers to ever let them fade away. (Will, of course, they are immortal, aren’t they?) Maybe the over-kill aspects of vampire mania has slowed down, but as long as the neck-biters keep looking good and biting-hard, they’re here to stay. I mean, think of Anne Rice’s Vampire novels, written way long ago, and still the vampires keep coming.

  8. #16 by Carrie Daws (@CarrieDaws) on January 29, 2012 - 4:40 PM

    I remember Highlander! My VERY non-vampire Dad got me started on that one. Neither one of us was completely hooked (as in we HAD to see every single show), but it was generally good and something we enjoyed together. I don’t think vampires will ever go completely out … mystical creatures are just too much fun to imagine!

    • #17 by Patricia Caviglia on January 30, 2012 - 12:03 AM

      I was totally hooked on Highlander. Hot men with swords. Need I say more? LOL!

    • #18 by Erica on January 31, 2012 - 3:09 PM

      My father was a highlander fan too! I loved the intro: )

Leave a Reply

