Making New Friends Through Social Media


I’m taking an online course called Blogging To Build Your Author Brand with Kristen Lamb. I have been following her blog for over a year and have gained so much from her posts that deciding to take the course was a no-brainer. As much as I am enjoying the course and the assignments what has truly amazed me are the friendships I am making with the other writers in my class. The class communicates mostly through Twitter and Facebook. We started bonding in part due to technological challenges: those versed in social networking helping those who were new to it.

I thought I would share a few blogs from my fellow students that speak of today’s tech world:

Are you new to blogs and social media? How has the technology changed your life in recent days/months/years? Are you baffled by the fact that you use your cell phone to take pictures, record video, keep notes, write letters (email), read the news, play games, attend a [Twitter] party, watch videos and listen to music?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by MSMillerAU on January 31, 2012 - 6:50 PM

    Thanks for the pingback Patricia – there’s something else I’ve learned! The dynamics of the way this class is structured it really amazing – I am also appreciating the new world-wide friendships.

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on February 4, 2012 - 10:19 PM

      Me too. I’m a little surprised to be honest. It’s not what I had expected but it’s so much better.

  2. #3 by Tami Clayton on January 30, 2012 - 10:33 AM

    Thanks for the blog mention, Patricia! We’re now a month into our class and I’m *still* adjusting to juggling so much social media stuff. I’m glad I’m not doing it alone!

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on February 4, 2012 - 10:18 PM

      I know exactly what you mean. My WIP is taking a serious hit.

  3. #5 by Cindy M Bell on January 27, 2012 - 10:44 AM

    Also, you’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger Award! More info at http://www.cindymbell.com/2012/01/27/blog-love/

    • #6 by Patricia Caviglia on January 28, 2012 - 3:42 AM

      Thank you. I guess I now know what my next post will be. LOL!

  4. #7 by Carrie Daws on January 27, 2012 - 9:14 AM

    Some of the technology I pick up on pretty easily. Others … Not so much. I do love the fact, though, that I can leave my house with only my phone and lose a lot of the other baggage: notepad, camera…and The freedom of not having to be tied to the house when I’m expecting a phone call.

    • #8 by Patricia Caviglia on January 28, 2012 - 3:46 AM

      Sometimes it feels like freedom and other times it feels like a leash.

  5. #9 by Cindy on January 27, 2012 - 9:11 AM

    Hi Patricia! I’ve finally get the lure of social media (being a fellow Lamb devotee). I’ve always been a technology geek, but finances had me stuck pre-photo sharing via phone while I lived in AK. In fact, I was lured back to Alabama, in part, by the knowledge I could afford a smart phone (through a family plan), lol.

    Pssst… You may want to link up to Lamb’s blog. It’s good for everyone (you, her, and us readers who’ll be able to check out her blog after you’ve sparked our curiosity).

    • #10 by Patricia Caviglia on January 28, 2012 - 3:39 AM

      Thanks for reminding to link up Lamb’s blog. I meant to do it.

  6. #11 by patriciasands on January 27, 2012 - 8:40 AM

    Ahem, I would simply like to say I told you so! Great post!

  7. #13 by Ellen on January 27, 2012 - 5:25 AM

    Very topical post! I love social media, particularly blogging and facebook. I’d never used Twitter until last year and it took me AGES to ‘get it’. I kept wanting to read ‘everything’ and of course you simply can’t scroll back for hours like you can (and I do) with facebook. And I never felt inclined to respond to anyone (unless I knew them IRL). I spent months reading tweets, but never really engaging.

    That’s now changed a lot! I find it amazing how we’ve all managed to connect through social media – there’s a lot to be said for coralling a bunch of people into a ‘room’ and letting them have at it. But I do find it time consuming…

    As for iPhones – I got one a few months ago and I LOVE it. My favourite thing is being able to take photos and post them to FB immediately. But I also love that it lets me check FB and twitter while I’m at work (where those sites are blocked). I guess you could say I’m a social media addict 🙂

Leave a Reply

