The Happily Insulated State of Mind


Idea Go

Have you ever found yourself with nothing to say? This happens to me from time to time. A one on one conversation and I don’t have anything to contribute. Thoughts go through my mind but I can’t be bothered to make them flow through to my tongue. I mutely stare back at the other person while s/he expectantly stares back at me. And it doesn’t bother me. I’m happily insulated.

Hmm…Is that weird? I don’t know. I sort of enjoy my self-containment when it comes. It’s a contemplative state. Lots of thoughts whirl through my mind but none that I care to share. Lately, writing feels like that. I have become an inconsistent blogger although I have a list of to-write posts. A writer who opens up her WIP, full of ideas on how to write the next scene, the following one and the one after that but closes it without writing a word because I can’t be bothered to make my fingers move over the keyboard.

I’m amazed that I’m actually writing this post. It might be guilt motivated. If it is, I hope it spreads to my WIP because even a page a day would be better than nothing a day.

Do you ever suffer from a happily insulated state of mind?

,

  1. #1 by Carrie Daws (@CarrieDaws) on January 7, 2012 - 9:18 AM

    A LOT! I frequently stand in front of people with a COMPLETELY blank mind (or impolite things that should not come out of my mouth! LOL). An hour later when I’m by myself, I think of lots of things I could have said, questions I could have asked to get a conversation going. I commit to remember three or four simple things I could say to or ask almost anyone … but the next time I’m before someone I barely know, it happens all over again. It frustrates me immensely! I think that’s why I like writing — I can type alone, when my mind works best.

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on January 8, 2012 - 10:07 PM

      Carrie, I completely understand. I do the same prep work you do sometimes for social events only to fall flat on my face or remain mute. Once I sit at the keyboard, it’s a whole different world.

  2. #3 by patriciasands on November 9, 2011 - 2:05 PM

    Hey girl! Get those fingers walking over that keyboard! I’m waiting …

Leave a Reply

