Rock Climbing: A Manageable Goal


Sura Nualpradid

I have a goal of parachuting out of an airplane. It has sat on my to-do list for years. I have a slight challenge to overcome. I’m afraid of heights. I’ve lived in skyscrapers my entire life. I love sitting out on the balcony but leaning over the railing is not something I do. I’m okay at the top of a mountain looking at the horizon but looking down is scary. It’s even a challenge for me to stand on a ladder and deal with a ceiling fixture. I do it but there’s a lot of swearing and praying involved.

The other day I hiked in Kelso Conservation Area. One of the trails follows the Niagara Escarpment. It’s not very high, but standing at the top of the Escarpment had been on my to-do list since I moved to Southern Ontario. As I stood at the top, I peaked down the rock wall and was tempted to do a little rock climbing.

The sudden desire to climb down that small cliff struck me as odd. I never figured out exactly how I would overcome my fear so that I could achieve my parachuting goal. Now this new, much smaller and manageable goal-a baby step toward parachuting, presents itself. I’ve decided to work on it this winter with some indoor climbing. Next spring, I’m climbing the Escarpment! Hopefully, there won’t be any kids around because I’m sure there is going to be some swearing.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Elaine Smothers on January 22, 2012 - 10:46 AM

    I loved this post! I too am afraid of heights (and flying) but skydiving was at the top of my bucket list and I made 2 jumps in late 2008. They were 2 of the most amazing days of my life. Go for your dream. You’ll never regret it! … At 2.5 miles above the earth, you don’t get the dizzying sensation of height like you do at the top of a skyscraper or mountain. It’s like jumping into a magnificent painting. And with the wind noise, you can swear all you want and no one will hear you! I look forward to reading your post-jump post. Blue skies!

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on January 22, 2012 - 1:11 PM

      LOL! I am now terrified and excited at the same time. Thanks for the support.

  2. #3 by Patricia Sands on October 18, 2011 - 11:01 PM

    As the saying goes – if you believe it, you can achieve it. Go for it (but wear a helmet)!

  1. Rock Climbing: A Manageable Goal « Patricia Caviglia | Rock Climbing
  2. Rock Climbing: A Manageable Goal « Patricia Caviglia | Rock Climbing

Leave a Reply

