My Daughter: The Most Special Person In My Life


My daughter is the most special person in my life. Before I got pregnant, I thought about all the things I would have to give up as a parent such as personal time, privacy, luxuries like grand vacations, and at least eighteen years of freedom. While I was pregnant, I gave up high heels and my wardrobe. I also gave up my body. I subsisted on plain bagels and water for a few months. Later, I ate like a teenage boy. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a teenage boy’s metabolism and hit the 200 pounds mark (In case you’re wondering, I did lose the extra weight). And, of course, my bodily functions became a challenge.

That I would get something out of motherhood never occurred to me. As I washed the dishes one day, I looked at my daughter and realized that I was her most important example of a woman. I accepted my duty and made some decisions:

  1. While some people stay married because of the kids, I chose to get divorced because of my kid. By staying in an unhappy union, I would show my daughter that it was okay to settle in life. Since that’s not the way that I want her to live her life, I had to change the way I lived mine.
  2. Since my childhood, I dreamed of being a writer. I let other people convince me that I couldn’t do it. I lacked self-confidence. And I let my own desire for financial stability push my dream aside. There is no way I want my daughter to give up on her dreams before she even tries to live them out. So, I wrote a book and published it.

Because of my daughter, I learned the meaning of happiness. Now, I live my life in alignment with my inner truth. If that’s not amazing enough, there’s one more thing she gives me. The simplicity of her three year old mind forces me to slow down, and to enjoy the moment and let myself get absorbed in it.


Today I’m participating in a mass blogging day! WOW! Women On Writing has gathered a group of blogging buddies to write about Special People We Know and Love. Why? We’re celebrating the release of Joanne Lewis’ and Amy Lewis Faircloth’s debut novel. Wicked Good (Telemachus Press, LLC, 2011) is about the unconditional love between a mother and her adopted, special needs son and the adventure that brings them closer together. Visit The Muffin to read what Joanne and Amy have to share about their special people and view the list of all my blogging buddies. Then be sure to visit http://www.amyandjoanne.com/ to learn more about the authors.

If you comment on today’s post on this blog or any of the other blogs participating in Everybody’s Talking About Wicked Good People, you will be entered to win a print copy of Wicked Good by Amy Lewis Faircloth and Joanne Lewis. To read about Amy and Joanne’s Special People and view the list of participating blogs please visit The Muffin http://muffin.wow-womenonwriting.com/

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Brenda on October 12, 2011 - 11:45 AM

    Both mother and daughter are fortunate to have one another. Children are the most amazing teachers. She will keep you young, but also give you grey hairs, she will make you laugh, but also cry. Like you, I was awash with love the first time her little fingers curled around my thumb. Wonderful story.

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on October 13, 2011 - 10:55 PM

      Brenda,

      I think she’s already done all of that! But I’m sure there’s more to come and I look forward to it.

  2. #3 by Patricia Caviglia on October 11, 2011 - 11:10 PM

    Thank you all for leaving comments. I hope one of you wins a prize!

  3. #4 by Jo on October 10, 2011 - 5:09 PM

    It sounds like mother and daughter are both very lucky. Thank you for a beautiful post.

    • #5 by Patricia Caviglia on October 11, 2011 - 10:51 PM

      Jo, Thanks for the kind words! It’s a pleasure to write about my daughter and how her existence has influenced mine in such a positive way.

  4. #6 by jcnierad on October 10, 2011 - 4:14 PM

    Patricia,
    I really enjoyed reading your post. I had a daughter recently and also felt a renewed sense of purpose in pursuing my writing dreams. Way to go on writing and publishing your book!

    • #7 by Patricia Caviglia on October 11, 2011 - 10:53 PM

      Thank you! Living out our dreams makes us better people, therefore better parents.

  5. #8 by Sandy Young on October 10, 2011 - 3:28 PM

    I love the relationship that you describe between you and your daughter. Just wait till she’s 48! The relationship just gets better and better. So glad you pursued your dream of writing. What’s the title of your book?

    • #9 by Patricia Caviglia on October 11, 2011 - 11:06 PM

      Sandy,

      Agh! I’m not ready for her to be forty-eight yet.

      It sounds like you might have a great relationship with your daughter. What have you done to make that way?

      My book, Masks: A Novella http://amzn.to/qU8nRz, is the story of a teenage girl dealing with her emotionally abusive parents.

  6. #10 by Robyn on October 10, 2011 - 1:57 PM

    Beautiful message! I love how are children become our teachers.

  7. #12 by patriciasands on October 10, 2011 - 1:33 PM

    What a lucky daughter you have!

    • #13 by Patricia Caviglia on October 11, 2011 - 11:09 PM

      I feel like I’m the lucking one and she was at the top of the list of things to be grateful for on this year’s Thanksgiving list. She’s beat everyone and everything else for the last three years!

  1. Everybody’s Talking About…Wicked Good People: Winner! « Patricia Caviglia

Leave a Reply

