The Tech Savvy Writer


Welcome back to Writing Mondays!

Courtesy of Luigi Diamanti

As writers, we can’t work without technology these days. So far, I have only met one young author who writes his novels with pen and paper but broke down and bought a Jurassic period computer to keep things neat and organized and goes to the library to use the internet for research. No blog, Twitter, Facebook or any other social media networking. When he first told me about his “set up,” my eyes grew big and my jaw dropped. I was awed.

I think about all the techie things I have had to learn over the past year. I fiddled with my website. I bought a netbook and an internet stick last August to keep up with my new world. My early blog posts were dismal until something finally clicked five months in to posting and I found my voice. Social media? I shunned it until I read enough posts from marketing experts to accept reality. In December, I traded my Pay-As-You-Go cell phone for a smartphone to keep up with my social media networks. And yesterday, after months of deliberation and tired of my desktop groaning and crashing, I purchased a laptop. The netbook just wasn’t going to cut it as an alternate. To justify my purchase, my desktop crashed earlier today as I was working on my WIP (Aaaaaaaaaaaaagh!) and is currently groaning.

Years ago, when I daydreamed about being a writer, I purchased spiral notebooks, pretty journals and good pens. I was proud of my electric typewriter with the built-in whiteout ribbon and dictionary. I never imagined that I would need:

        • a modem
        • a computer
        • an external memory drive
        • an e-mail account
        • Twitter, Tweetdeck and Hootsuite
        • Facebook (Which, for the life of me, I have yet to understand! I know I keep repeating myself. Please go Like my FB page because I haven’t figured out what else I’m supposed to do with it except beg readers and friends to do that. I thank you for your pity.)
        • a blog
        • a domain name
        • a smartphone
        • author accounts on multiple websites

The cool thing is: it is fun to be able to sit at home and reach millions of people with a few keystrokes and mouse clicks.

What do you love and hate and being a tech-savvy writer? I love to hear from you. Leave a comment.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Baxter Clare Trautman on September 27, 2011 - 8:22 PM

    What I’ve found truly rewarding about our technology is getting to “meet” my fan base and so many other writers, publishers, editors. Who knew there were so many nice people out there? Interesting, too!

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on September 27, 2011 - 11:17 PM

      I agree! There’s such a great community of good people willing to help with little or no expectation.

  2. #3 by The Tech Savvy Writer on September 5, 2011 - 7:26 PM

    Love? Having a good perspective on how technology changes.
    Hate? Having to explain that using Twitter to send a message is not a “Twit”.

    • #4 by Patricia Caviglia on September 13, 2011 - 10:53 PM

      Staying open to technological changes is definitely a must these days!

  3. #5 by patriciasands on September 5, 2011 - 12:54 PM

    I would just love to be able to say I’m a tech savvy writer! Working on it!

  4. #7 by writenaked on September 5, 2011 - 10:14 AM

    I love being able to quickly revise and store alternate versions of articles and stories. And, it’s much easier to travel as a writer now. I hate it when technology doesn’t cooperate and files are lost or the blue-screen-of-death pays a visit. Plus, remembering all of the different passwords for all of the different web accounts. Can you imagine what writing life will be like 50 years from now?

    • #8 by Patricia Caviglia on September 13, 2011 - 10:51 PM

      I think the next couple of years will define publishing and writing.

Leave a Reply

