A Day at the CNE


Welcome to the first PC Friday!

I moved to the Greater Toronto Area from Montreal six years ago. I knew Montreal like I knew myself. It was part of me and I was part of it. The Red Hot Chili Peppers summed it up.

Due to the rivalry between the two cities, I hadn’t heard very good things about Toronto but I came with an open mind since it would become my new home. Within days of my arrival, I plunged in to wedding planning mode, followed by house buying mode, motherhood mode and divorce mode. So a lot happened in six years, but nothing to really stop me from exploring Toronto. However, it never happened.

Two years ago, as I was separating from my ex-husband, I promised myself that I would get to know Toronto and form a positive attachment to it. I’ve slowly been working on it. I have a list of things to-do and see here that I keep adding to regularly. One of the most important events to take place in Toronto is the Canadian National Exhibition (CNE) every August. For Torontonians, it marks the end of summer holidays.

I had a fabulous time at my first CNE with my daughter and my mom. We visited the Canadian Armed Forces area, rode the ferris wheel, got wet on the log ride, kicked, threw, and batted some balls, watched a tree walk, saw the air show, petted some animals, ate corn dogs, cotton candy, and funnel cake, caught a show, played with musical instruments, made massive bubbles, and smiled a lot!

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Elisa Michelle on September 5, 2011 - 9:22 PM

    Sounds like a lot of fun!

  2. #2 by patriciasands on September 3, 2011 - 4:44 AM

    Sounds like a great day! I love the Ex – it’s Toronto’s end-of-summer tradition.

    • #3 by Patricia Caviglia on September 4, 2011 - 9:34 PM

      It was great! And I’m so glad I was finally part of it.

Leave a Reply

