Changes


I’ve been riding an emotional rollercoaster for weeks. Things have finally started to settle a little and I am getting ready for some changes. The most important is my new job starting in September. After years of living by the “Train time is anything” motto and mainly working afternoons and nights, I am moving on to a job with regular hours. I will still be working for the railway but on the side of the customer, not the railway. Does that seem odd?

After the Ontario government announced the implementation of junior kindergarten across the province and full-day junior kindergarten in many schools last fall, I started looking for a day job so that I could be on the same schedule as my daughter. It took almost a year but I finally did it. After months of hearing back from hiring managers that I was second runner-up (I actually lost track of how many times I got this response. There were only two “No. Thank you”s.), I couldn’t quite believe someone wanted me on their team. I received the letter of offer almost three weeks ago and promptly signed and returned it, but I’m still kind of stunned. I literally have deer-in-the-headlights moments and wonder if it’s really true.

I have a couple of weeks to go and have been trying to figure out how to schedule my life. This blog has certainly taken a backseat lately so it’s time to make some changes. I will be posting twice a week as I have done in the past (before August) and I’m bringing in themed days.

Writing Mondays: On Mondays, I’ll write posts about… Take a guess? Writing! Be it on anything going on in the publishing world, my own experience and thoughts, or updates on my WIP. I will continue to remain informative.

PC Fridays: In my last post, I mentioned that self-promotion worked best when we sell ourselves and not our books. I often feel like I write too much about myself on this blog by giving my opinion. I know that I don’t write about my personal life because I’m fairly reserved. I’m going to open up a little more about my life and my interests on Fridays.

See you Monday!

Do you prefer informative or personal posts? What writing/publishing topics would you like to read about? What are you most curious of about bloggers? I love hearing from you. Leave a comment.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Patricia Caviglia on August 28, 2011 - 6:51 AM

    Thank you both for your words of encourangement!

  2. #2 by patriciasands on August 28, 2011 - 6:21 AM

    I think you have been doing a fine job of finding the balance between personal and informative. Carry on!

  3. #3 by Elisa Michelle on August 27, 2011 - 5:58 PM

    Best of luck with the new job! I look forward to hearing about it and about your writing, as always.

Leave a Reply

