What’s Stopping You From Becoming A Successful Author?


At the Writers and Editors Network meeting this morning, our guest speaker was Dr. Lise Janelle DC, author of Conversation With the Heart. She’s a life coach who has helped thousands of people transform their lives. Instead of speaking about how she got publish or about her book, Dr. Janelle spoke about aligning our heart’s desire with our actions.

Are You Willing to Be Successful?

She gave us a demonstration with two volunteers from the audience. The members forced an arm against her hand while she asked them make four statements: “My name is…,” “I am ready to be successful,” “I am willing to be successful,” and “I am capable.” While the volunteers held firm against Dr. Janelle’s pressure for three of the statements, their arms gave in to her strength when they stated “I am willing to be successful.” The conclusion is that something is blocking them from doing everything they need to to be successful.

Before the summer of 2008, I had stopped writing because:

  • it was too much work
  • I would never be “discovered”
  • I didn’t want to be a starving artist
  • I didn’t have the time
  • I wasn’t good enough

Basically I built a wall so high that I would never be able to climb it.

Remove the Blockage

This lack of commitment was due to a fear of failure. If I wanted to write a book, then I had to stop thinking about it and just write it. I made a conscious decision to write a story and publish it. I created those two goals and hounded myself until I reached them. I wrote about this in a guest post on The Muffin.

Gaining Momentum

Once published there were more commitments to make like writing this blog, using social media and writing another story. Those decisions were easy to make because I knew they would contribute to my success. The hard decision was the first one.

The two authors who volunteered for Dr. Janelle’s demonstration are both published authors as well. So why aren’t they willing to be successful? Only they have the answer. I know that I was simply afraid of failure. What if I couldn’t finish writing that book? What if I couldn’t publish it? What if readers didn’t like it? These questions don’t surface anymore. I am ready, willing and capable.

The Learn More About… Page

I’m taking this opportunity to launch a resource page on this blog. It’s called Learn More About… I’ve accumulated many articles about self-publishing, writing, social media and promotion. I’m going to share them with you on that page. I hope they help you as much as they’ve helped me.

Since we’re on the topic of becoming successful authors, I’ll start by posting the articles on what it takes to be an author. I will add one topic a week to the page for the next few weeks. Please let me know if any of the links don’t work or if you want to suggest other articles.

What’s blocking you from success? I love to hear from you. Leave a comment.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Elisa Michelle on June 19, 2011 - 4:12 AM

    This is an interesting post. I’m curious to see your future blog topics, as struggling with negative thoughts about success is something I really have a hard time with.

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on June 20, 2011 - 8:20 PM

      I read a self-help book once that referred to thoughts as rivers. As the same thoughts occur over and over again the river grows deeper and deeper. The only way out of a “bad river” is to portage yourself to a new river — one with thoughts that are the opposite of the negative thoughts. You consciously make the positive river deeper until it becomes your natural way of thinking. Easier said that done, but worth a try if it means the difference between wishing for success and feeling successful.

Leave a Reply

