90 Days to My Novel: Outline


28th Days

Yesterday was the 28th day of the 90 day writing program that will get my novel to a finished first draft. Sadly, I am not at day 28 of the program but only at day 22. Some of the preparatory assignments took me longer than the suggested two to three hours. Some required some serious deliberating. I haven’t seriously deliberated anything in years. My brain these days goes something like this: [My writing. My thoughts.] Diana approached – I need to check on the little one – him unsure – chiropractor tomorrow after Kinder Korner – he sought the comfort – I should get some water. I’m thirsty – she offered. If you’re a parent with a career and are writing a book in your spare time (also known as sleep), you can relate.

First Milestone

Despite my dysfunctional brain, I have reached a milestone. I have an outline! I don’t believe it is set in stone. It’s the best I could come up with. It works. I believe two things will make it shine. The first is my characters. While I am more in control of the story since I have an outline, I know when I sit down to write I will become the medium my characters use to tell their story. They will take over that outline and make it their own. Secondly, I can write and re-write until the story sounds as great as I can make. So onward I go.

Do you use an outline when you write a story? I love to hear from you. Leave a comment.

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jeff Greene on June 6, 2011 - 1:07 PM

    I try to use an outline and like you said it is not set in stone. The biggest help of an outline is knowing where the story is going. I’ve stumbled on some many misfires on story just because I didn’t know how it ended. Keep plugging away and thanks for the update. Looking for more.

  2. #2 by patriciasands on June 4, 2011 - 11:31 AM

    I don’t know how you find the time to do all you do. Having an outline as your guide is a good idea even though we both know there will be surprises ahead. Write on, my friend.

Leave a Reply

