90 Days To My First Draft


I started writing Diana (working title) around October of last year. It started as a short story and bloomed in to a novel. Not quite a novel. More like a novel in progress.

40 000 Words To Go

After seven months in the cooker, one would assume that a first draft, second and third draft are complete. One would be wrong. I wrote about twenty thousand words. Another forty thousand to go. The numbers don’t scare me. I have my story in my head. All I need to do is write out of my head and in to Word. Sounds easy. It’s not.

The Problem (a.k.a. The Excuses)

There are so many distractions. E-mail. Blogs to read. Blogs to write. Sites to check out. Tweets. Facebook. Goodreads. The list goes on. The real problem is a lack structure. I get up every morning around eight and spend time with my daughter until I leave for work in the afternoon. I got a Blackberry a few months ago so I could keep up with the social media and e-mails on the go. I get home at night and plunk myself down at my computer and work til about two, sometimes much later.

My Taskmaster

I’m not lazy, but I am a little disorganized. Or should I say, I lack some commitment to my project. So I decided to use a different approach. I picked up 90 Days To Your Novel by Sarah Domet. The book includes ninety daily assignments, which take about three hours to complete. By the end of the three months, I should have a completed first draft.

In case you’re wondering, I’m on day ten. I will keep you posted on my progress.

What are some of your writing challenges? I love to hear from you. Leave a comment.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jeff Greene on May 20, 2011 - 9:45 PM

    Can you mention what some of the daily tasks are?

    • #2 by Patricia Caviglia on May 21, 2011 - 6:32 PM

      I am in the early stages of the 90 days so I am at the pre-writing stage. A few days were spent on exploring major and minor characters to have a clear idea of their look, , behaviour, motives, history and personality. Other assignments were about setting, point of view, conflict and plot. I can clearly see that I am gathering the materials necessary to write my next novel. This is an experiment that is worth talking about so I will probably post my progress every couple of weeks.

      • #3 by Jeff Greene on May 21, 2011 - 7:48 PM

        Please do keep us posted.

  2. #4 by Patricia Sands on May 17, 2011 - 10:28 AM

    Wow! The novella has become a novel! Good for you and I’ll be waiting for the first opportunity to take a look at it!

Leave a Reply

