E-readers


When e-readers first appeared, I wanted nothing to do with them. Why would I give up my precious books? They engage my senses: the sound of turning a page, the smell of a book, the texture of the paper and the weight of it all. Reading can be as sensual as it can be intellectual. As time goes on, I am starting to see the benefits of e-readers. I can have an entire library on one slim little device. Space-wise, it can’t be beat! Environmentally, it seems quite sound; forests might have a chance to grow again. The portability is fantastic too. Instead of chosing which book to take on vacation, I could take them all.

When I first published my novel, I really wasn’t keen on it being available as an e-book. It didn’t seem to me like a format anyone would really be interested in. I was so wrong. Sales for e-readers skyrocketed at the end of last year due to gift givers. This month, e-book sales are through the roof too. Suddenly, I’m glad my book is available on Nook and Kindle.

As I become more comfortable using technology, I am becoming intrigued by e-readers. I came across an article in The Times of India that points to one major downfall: the font used by some e-readers diminish attention and retention to the material read. Fortunately, not all e-readers are built alike. I’ll keep that in mind when I decide to expand my technological boundaries once again.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mrs. This One on January 26, 2011 - 3:45 PM

    I couldn’t convert if I wanted to. Working in front of a screen all day makes me want to lose the computer as soon as possible- books do that for me. This is why I can’t give into a reader.

    But if it works for you, it works for you!

    -MTO

Leave a Reply

