R&R


I have a confession to make. Since I am a writer, I am also an avid reader. Or should I say was an avid reader. Since the beginning of summer, I have done very little reading. Actually, that’s not true. I read blogs, websites, how-to’s about websites, dictionary size volumes on social media networking, marketing books, e-mails, group posts, Facebook walls, Tweets, etc. Until two weeks ago, I went to bed every night with my brain drowning in cyberspace. This new state of affairs seemed to be part of the road to success as an author. While I was tempted to leave the entire effort behind on many occasions, I am blessedly stubborn and determined.

Night after night, I went to bed with JPod (Douglas Coupland) beside me on my night table. I eyed the novel warily, wondering when I would resume reading it. I had started it at the beginning of July and had barely touched it since. Finally, a few weeks ago, I needed something to make me forget another mind numbing fruitless foray in to the World Wide Web. I reached for JPod. I drifted easily into a world that was not my own nor one that I was trying to understand or be a part of. It was bliss. I lay my head on my pillow after reading a few pages and fell asleep with nothing on my mind. Sleep – the way it was meant to be.

I realized I should have been reading a novel all along. Since then, I force myself to read a few pages every night. I’m not eager to finish this novel. I just need something to make the day end lightly. Life can’t be all work, work, work. A little down time, even in the form of reading two pages of a novel, can go a long way in the R&R department.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Meghan on November 7, 2010 - 4:25 AM

    This is very strange for me because I’m a constant reader myself but have had Mistwood by Leah Cypess for a couple weeks right next to where I sleep that I borrowed from the library. I’ve been blogging, taking care of my baby brother and sister and doing the laundry for my family of nine…I guess my point is that reading was and always will be my leisure time but for some reason I’ve been thinking too much…about everything that’s happening.

    I love this post. I couldn’t belive my eyes and now I feel regretful that I’ve taken mistwood out of my currently reading pile.

    I’m going to sleep now but tomorrow, I vow I will take a breather and read my heart out.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

