Brad Smith


If you’ve read my novel, you know my writing is simple and straight-forward. While sometimes, I enjoy great descriptions of settings and feelings, most of the time, I prefer the concise approach. That is how I like to write and that is what I like to read. I write that way because it is part of my personality. I’m not a details person. I get bogged down too easily in the details and lose sight of the forest.

My favourite author is Brad Smith. His descriptions are simple and to the point. My imagination can fill in what he leaves out. I think he’s a great writer because his characters are real. They have flaws, pasts, and could be someone I know. In other words, they are easy to identify with. Another reason his writing is so great is the plot. His characters are faced with a simple problem, usually a lack of money. Somehow they come up with a crazy scheme to raise the money they need and fix their lives. I like his formula: down-to-earth characters with money issues, and a great imagination. Simple and clean.

,

  1. #1 by patriciasands on November 2, 2010 - 6:00 PM

    Thanks for introducing me to his writing. I’m enjoying One-eyed Jacks!

Leave a Reply

