Molly


Anyone who knows me can testify that I am slow at using new technology. Actually, I resist it! Fear of change is definitely one of my weaknesses. A few weeks ago, I got a little paranoid by all the e-mails I was receiving from strangers. Every time, I went to open one, I wondered if it would spread a virus through my desktop or steal my identity. Like I said, paranoid. So it was time to invite new technology into my life.

With my digital security in mind and a great instant rebate offer, I started looking into buying a laptop. I figured out what I needed and what I wanted. Then I went to the store with a friend. By the time, we got to the store, I wasn’t as paranoid anymore. I wanted the laptop to replace my desktop. I liked the portability of it. I would be able to work from anywhere in my home and from anywhere period. However, I couldn’t afford what I wanted. The more I thought about it as I browsed and considered my options, the more I realized that it would be foolish of me to spend money I didn’t have on something I didn’t really need. Still, portability was one idea I couldn’t let go of.

Finally, I settled on a netbook. I could still write on it and take care of my social networking needs. I named my netbook Molly. She is a lovely pink and I enjoy spending time with her quite a bit. The portability factor is amazing. Just at home, I can work and still spend time with my daughter in any room she choses to play. I guess you could say that I’ve embraced 1G of change.

, ,

  1. #1 by patriciasands on October 17, 2010 - 10:42 AM

    Good on ya, girl! The netbook was a ideal compromise.

Leave a Reply

