Inspiration


Two factors played into writing Masks. The first was the existence of my daughter. As her role model, I have to set the best example I can. To me, part of that example meant pursuing my dream of becoming a published author. I had made up my mind that I would write a novel and attempt to publish it, but I hadn’t thought much further than that.

One day, I started watching a French Canadian movie called Tout est parfait (Everything is perfect). The movie brought me back to what it was like to be a teenager. I was reminded of the way everything seemed so crucial at that time. Thoughts of adolescence kept creeping up in my mind for days. Still, I did not see that Rebecca Jacobs would be born from those thoughts. Eventually, I could tell I had a bit of a story forming. I didn’t think I would write any of it down because I had never considered writing a teen novel. A few more days past and finally, I did decide to let her live out her story. I sat down and started writing.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

